Uttar Pradesh Rajarshi Tandon Open University, Prayagraj was established by the U. P. State Govt. as a State Open University on November 02, 1998. UPRTOU has brought the higher education within the reach of a large segment of population, and caters to the needs of thousands of aspirants of higher education. The motto of the UPRTOU is “reaching to the unreached”, and it aspires to achieve it as early as possible. Thus, the programmes of the University fulfill the educational, research and training needs of a wide segment of population from the professionally qualified to the general public, from corporate executives to unemployed youths, and from businessmen to homemakers. For organizing its various academic activities, the university has established the following nine schools of studies:
  • School of Humanities
  • School of Social Sciences
  • School of Sciences
  • School of Education
  • School of Management Studies
  • School of Health Sciences
  • School of Computer & Information Science
  • School of Vocational Studies
  • School of Agricultural Sciences
The National Education Policy (NEP) 2020 envisages the promotion of quality research within the Higher Education system. Research and innovation are important aspects to enhance quality education by the Higher Education Institutions (HEIs). Societal challenges of our country can only be addressed by having a strong and vibrant higher education ecosystem with an emphasis on research, innovation, and technology development. The integration of Research, Innovation and Technology Development is the foundation of Atma-Nirbhar Bharat (Self-reliant India). The establishment of Research and Development Cell (RDC) in UPRTOU will enable attainment of targets of Atma-Nirbhar Bharat and is expected to play a pivotal role in catalyzing multidisciplinary / transdisciplinary and translational research culture mandated in NEP 2020.